Hello, Roboto

Today in my digital media class, we were told to make a logo for our own fictitious design company… Immediately I was smiling on the inside and firstly I jumped online to download the Roboto font from the website Android Design. (These were school computers, and though it was over used by other students, Comic Sans will never cut it for me)

For those who don’t know, Roboto is a Open Source and free font family that was designed specifically around two things…

1) Android 4.0

The font was created for Android 4 so it was made with that in mind… more on this later…

2) High resolution displays

This font was made to be shown on high definition displays and as result is a Vector (PHEW) based font, meaning it will always be clear.

So the reason I posted this is I wanted to add on to the story behind the Roboto font as I think the founder of the font doesn’t do it justice.

This font was based with a dually based nature (Says the founder)… It is a font that is sleek, elegant and robotic in its basis; but human oriented with its clean nature and proportional and properly tuned curves. The Roboto font you can tell by just looking, has had a lot of thought and careful planning put into it (Says myself). If you type a few letters out and the look carefully at them you notice very minoot and fine details… for ex. The “r” when typed… On the top tail on the “r” in this font, it is not straight as it would appear, but it has a gradual and small slope: The rounded parts of the “r” are also, not completely rounded, but they maintain that robotic aspect, with a very small straightway that is quickly turned with the end of its tip.

I could go for hours in details on each letter alone, but I just think that to any designer or fan of Helvetica fonts, needs to check this font out cause it is a very pleasant font and is my current favorite, over my previous (Helvetica Neue 37 thin).

Leave a Reply

